Agnes’ Newsletter Feature #1: Patricia of Beau’s Bits and Bobs

***************************************************************************************************************************************

Before I begin, Patricia’s words from the About section of her shop.

Hi Everyone!

My name is Patricia. I am a mother of a 2 children – a toddler and one who was born just before Christmas last year 🙂 I grew up in Sydney Australia and moved to the UK over 7 years ago..meant to stay only for a year, but got married and had kids..so the rest is history 😉

I started making friendship bracelets when I was in high school many years ago. It is my favourite pattern and available on line – zig zag diamond bracelet. I made this friendship bracelet a lot in all sorts of colours, giving them to my friends and loved ones as gifts.

I also recently placed knitted items online. I hope to place more items soon.

***************************************************************************************************************************************

The treasury I made of Patricia’s shop, BeausBitsAndBobs:  http://www.etsy.com/treasury/MTIwNjI0NjB8MjcyMzE0OTgxNA/agnes-newsletter-feature-1-beaus-bits

***************************************************************************************************************************************

Agnes’ Newsletter Feature #1: Patricia of Beau’s Bits and Bobs

 

Me, Ms. Agnes: How did you find out about Etsy?
Patricia: I found out about Etsy while surfing the internet as I wanted to start selling things, but I didn’t know where! It is much easier than setting up your own website – and this way you get to meet the lots of wonderful people on Etsy! People have been supportive when I mention I have a shop on Etsy. They want to know the URL and check out my shop, which is fantastic.

 
Ms. Agnes: How did you come up with the name for your shop?                 Patricia: Beau’s bits and Bobs … Beau’s because it’s part of my surname, Bits and Bobs because I wanted my shop to have a bit of everything. And the whole shop name has a nice ring to it, I think. Hence Beau’s Bits and Bobs was born.

 

 Ms. Agnes: Give me a photo to post of an item that you think really represents your shop?

Image

Patricia: I have primarily Friendship bracelets in my shop, so I would say this represents my shop at the moment. Until I expand onto bigger things!

Ms. Agnes: Which item currently listed in your shop, is your favorite?

Image

Patricia: I like the baby scarves. It’s winter in Sydney at the moment and my youngest (8 months old) has a tinier version of this! It’s so adorable! My oldest has one a bit bigger in the same color. It’s so cute when they go out wearing matching scarves!

Ms. Agnes: What are your favorite colors to work with? Favorite material?
Patricia: Blue is my favorite color, but recently I have been doing some things in black and white, and I quite like it. Embroidery cotton is my favorite for material!

Ms.Agnes: Do you do custom orders? If so, which one was your favorite?
Patricia:
 Yep! I have done a few now. Every one of them has been a favorite! I enjoy what I do, so I don’t mind doing extra, special work. I welcome custom orders!

Ms. Agnes: How long were you a buyer on Etsy before you became a seller?                     Patricia: I was actually a seller first, then a buyer! I must say, my first Etsy purchase was a great experience experience and I have shopped more on Etsy since then. My first purchase was from Chaya at PearlsPlusLLC I bought a lovely pink pearl necklace. Chaya was very friendly and patient with me. It was also the first time I had ever used paypal and I had issues as paypal just changed the rules and my payment was an echeque or something like that. Anyways it was a learning experience and Chaya was very helpful and explained a lot of things to me. Chaya made my first etsy experience a great one!

Ms. Agnes: How many days old was your shop before you got your first purchase?
Patricia: Days… well I can tell you by months roughly? I opened in September 2011 and had my first purchase just before I was due to give birth in December! So roughly three months. It wasn’t until earlier this year that I started promoting more for my shop – joining teams, participating in BNSs and BNRs, setting up a Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest and just recently a Wanelo. 

www.twitter.com/beausbitsandbob  (no “s” as it didnt fit!!)
 
Ms. Agnes: What countries are most of your buyers from?
Patricia: Mainly the USA. 
 
Ms. Agnes: What’s your proudest Etsy moment?
Patricia: Selling my first friendship bracelet. Funnily enough, I sold it to someone in Australia. I was really excited! It was after midnight at the time in the UK when I saw the email. I couldn’t sleep, I was so excited!
 
Ms. Agnes: Tell us a story about a great customer!
Patricia: Customers that have really liked what I do, and have ordered more of the same things they bought before. I go ahead and make whatever they want, specially for them!
 
Ms. Agnes: Tell us a bad customer story, without identifying details.
Patricia: Well I am relatively new to the Etsy world, so not at the moment, knock on wood! I haven’t had any bad customer experiences. If I had to mention something, I would have to say one particular buyer never contacted me back after their purchase. Every other person has contacted me after their purchase in one form or another! I didn’t even know if that person ever received their order!
 
Ms. Agnes: Did you make any big mistakes concerning your shop when you first joined etsy, or even more recently? What were they?
Patricia:  I can’t think of big mistakes I have done at the moment. I am a newish shop and have a small amount of items listed in my shop at the moment. Let’s hope I don’t make any big mistakes! Well, I did ask something in a forum – but it was very minor. It relates to one of your other questions – the bad experience one, where the customer did not leave feedback or contact me about getting their package. I actually went onto a forum and asked people what would they do if they didn’t hear from a customer. I guess because my first sale, I received such great feedback and the buyer was so lovely! So this was the other extreme where I heard nada. The common advice on the forum was to not follow up with the customer whether they received the product or not, because they can turn around and say they never received it! The first couple of sales, I actually emailed the customers afterwards to see whether they received the goods. Since the recommendation, I don’t convo people after mailing stuff.
 
Ms. Agnes: Did you ever convo the person who left no feedback? What happened?
Patricia: Yep, I did convo them. I just never received a response. I convo’d I think… twice? That’s when I went to the Help Forum and asked. Then I got some great Etsy advice! I suppose normally I am quite friendly and will answer people regardless, so it’s a bit off-putting when someone doesn’t respond. And I wanted to make sure they received their goods!
 
***************************************************************************************************************************************
SECOND PART OF INTERVIEW
 
Image
 
Patricia:
 
I was born in Hong Kong and moved to Australia when I was young so I grew up in Australia. I work in the Telecommunications industry and seven years ago I transferred from our Sydney office to the UK one.  Everyone I’ve met has wondered why I moved from Sydney to the UK – they thought I was crazy! I only meant to stay in the UK for a year, but then I met my man, married him, bought a house, had kids…so the rest is history!
 
Image
 
In April my hubby took a job in Japan. We thought it would be a great experience and decided to all move there while I was on Maternity Leave and while my eldest had not started school yet. Japan is a wonderful country. I totally enjoyed living there! I do want to go back, we’ll see what happens.
 
My daughters and I came to Sydney in July. We were going to come later in the year, but hubby’s job accelerated everything. He is still in Japan, enjoying the nice hot weather! Australia has always been my home. I grew up here, my family is here. When my hubby and I got married, we had our wedding celebrations in both Aussie and the UK… and yes, in case you were wondering, I got to wear my wedding dress twice! I must admit, even having lived abroad for seven years, I’m still more familiar with Australia, Sydney really, than the UK. I guess even with the break in between, I have lived here longer!
 
Image
 
Lately with the Olympics happening, I’ve been missing the UK. I think it’s the whole atmosphere and excitement. Not being there and halfway across the world in a different time zone! Over the years I had made many friends in the UK and my daughter too made little friends there, that we had to leave behind these past few months, which is sad – but I suppose little kids her age take things in their stride!
 
I’m not sure what will happen after our trip to Sydney – whether we will continue to reside in the UK or move to OZ or even move to Japan. But whatever we decide, it will be a great adventure!
 
Ms. Agnes: What is your dream job?
Patricia: My dream job would be to live on the beach, maybe on an island resort enjoying the sun and sea, haha. Ok, that’s not really a job is it? Maybe own a hotel by the beach so that I can also chillax there enjoying  the sunshine and making sure everyone was having a good time as well… serving up pina coladas! Haha. Be my own boss so I can work my own hours and do as I please.

Ms. Agnes: What hobbies do you have outside of Etsy?
Patricia: Singing songs like Leona Lewis, Whitney, Celine Dion (‘I will always love you…haha), writing, reading, chillaxing, and seeing sights in new countries. 
 
Ms. Agnes: What kind of music do you like?
Patricia: I like R&B and pop. I don’t like Heavy Metal.
 
Ms. Agnes: Favorite TV Shows?
Patricia: TV Shows are mainly US based ones – NCIS, Glee, The Mentalist, Criminal Minds, Cougar Town, Modern Family etc.

Ms. Agnes: What’s your favorite movie? Actor? Actress?
Patricia: Favorite movie of all time is the ‘Sound of Music’. I have loved this since I was young and have watched it a zillion times. I used to love Tom Cruise when I was younger… at the moment I just like any actor that looks HOT! Haha.
Ms. Agnes: If you could spend the day with a dead, historical figure you have never met and in no way related to you, who and what would you do for the day?
Patricia: James Dean on the day he died – I’d go driving with him and tell him to slow down before he gets to Dead Mans Curve.

THE END
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Agnes’ Newsletter Feature #1: Patricia of Beau’s Bits and Bobs

Leave a Reply

